Texas permit less or "Constitutional Carry" goes into affect September 1, 2021, for Texas residents who are not prohibited by state or federal law from possessing a gun, however there are some restrictions that apply. Unlicensed citizens may not carry a handgun in the same places a licensed person can. Constitutional carry is a great concept, but state legislators laid the burden at your feet to still know the law, understand the use of force and deadly force, and prohibited places. You can still take our License to Carry online class to get all of this knowledge and information, without having to shoot the proficiency exam or apply for a license with the state. You will carry your firearm with more confidence, knowing you took responsible steps to ensure you are knowledgeable of the law as it applies to carrying a firearm. Upon completion we will still send you the completion certification, and it will be up to you to apply for the license or just use the class as a knowledge base for constitutional carry.
There are benefits to obtaining the actual license for yourself. For starters, if you plan on traveling outside of Texas with your handgun, you will need a License to Carry in order to benefit from the reciprocity Texas has with 30+ states. If you get caught in another state, carrying your handgun concealed or openly, and that state requires a license, you may be subject to felony charges. Another great benefit for gun owners and enthusiast, is that with a License to Carry in Texas, you can avoid having to go through the background check when purchasing a new firearm.
Our course provides all of the information you need for carrying openly or concealed, with a license in an easy to understand format, in plain spoken language, and with scenarios and examples to enhance your learning. Our License to Carry course is state approved, the most flexible (self paced), available online that meets the state requirements for material and time (4 hours total) We've designed our course to suit people with busy schedules who need flexibility. When you purchase our online course, you will have instant access to the material for 60 days, to take a little at a time or all at once.
Need fingerprint services? Click here to visit IdentoGO.
Looking to buy a gun for personal or home defense? Check out our inventory here.
Only those getting the actual license to Carry need to shoot the range exam. If you've signed up for the LTC course, once completed we will send you the LTC-101 classroom training certification to take to a certified firearms instructor to shoot the range proficiency test in Texas. In Bryan-College Station, we have certified LTC instructors who can administer the range proficiency exam. Contact us for more information. If you signed up for the Constitutional Carry course, once you've completed it, you're done! You do not have to shoot the range exam.
As a “shall issue state”, Texas will issue a license to carry to any legal U.S. resident, no matter what state you live in and allow you to renew it online. For military members and non-residents, this is the best option to obtaining a license that is reciprocated in over 30 states. As a military service member or veteran, you never have to visit Texas or be a Texas resident to get a license to carry or to renew it. Just complete our online course, submit the certification form, your range card, (or other proof of range proficiency), application and application fee to TX DPS and you're set.
Out of state residents must submit an application, pay the required fees, submit form LTC-6, two passport style photos and a copy of their out of state drivers license or state issued identification card (front and back, in color). Non-residents must also successfully complete the required training (classroom or online), to include the range proficiency exam which must take place in Texas, with a licensed Texas firearms instructor.
Our online class, provided by TX Licensed Firearms Instructor O. J. Sills (license #01737009), is certified under Texas Government Code 411.188 and 411.190 . All of our instructors are certified to administer the range proficiency exam. For further verification you can call TX DPS Regulatory Services Division and give them our provider's name and license number (512) 424-7293 or search here for the online provider.
License to Carry a Handgun
This course is state approved and gives you the best and easiest opportunity to get started on your license to carry a handgun in Texas, openly or concealed. We have a 100% student success rate and guarantee you will pass the exam.
Gunshot Trauma Wound Care
Treating gunshot wound trauma - (non-medical professional first responders)